M-Audio Audiophile 2496 Any good?

A Forum for topics relating to the soundcard/ audio converter that is used with MsPinky
TheBrick
M-Audio Audiophile 2496 Any good?

Post by TheBrick » Mon Jul 17, 2006 9:07 am

Hello People,

I need some advice and I am by no means an audio expert and am just starting out with this digita Dj game. I have had a search and can't find any info on the forum about this sound card

http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductI ... ce=froogle

Has any one used this card with miss pinky? Do that stats look like it is up for th job of a piss pinky setup?

I also have another stupid question. how do you kno if the adio converter you are using does not take a direct turtable connection and hence need a pre amp? Would this be stated in the spechs some where?

Lastly a question for out side this sub forum. hs any one had ago at running mspinky under wine in linux? I know the solution is to buy a mac but I can't afford a new computer just for audio work.

I am sure these are stupid questions but hay.

Cheers

T
OverDrive

Post by OverDrive » Fri Jul 28, 2006 4:58 pm

I just picked up an M-Audio FireWire Audiophile, and I would assume they're similar, if not the same, chipsets (a few other forums I've read say that the chipset in the Audiophile's are the same used in the Final Scratch 2's scratch amp). I'll let you know how it works out when I get my setup going.

Your turntables should say whether they output a line level, if they don't (my Stanton STR8-80s are switchable to Line or Phono). If they don't say anything about a 'line out' chances are you'll need a preamp.

Finally, I'm for sure going to be trying to get something kicking for Linux -- whether it be an attempt to run something under wine, or an attempt to write a plugin for an existing audio program using the SDK (XMMS perhaps). But having not taken a look at the code yet, I'm not sure how hard it'll be ... again I'll let you know.
dlpinkstah
Site Admin