I some need help with the m4l device.

For topics related to using MsPinky inside the Max/MSP graphical programming environment
sec-def
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:43 am

I some need help with the m4l device.

Postby sec-def » Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:45 pm

using a 2ghz dual core laptop (3gb ram)
running win-7.
a stanton st-150 through n-i's audio-kontrol-1
the patch will not load up any highlighted clips what so ever.
it can retrieve some clip information. (clip numbers but not names or the channel the are on unless it's on the same channel as the patch)
the hot cue doesn't seem to do anything and neither does the on-the-fly looping option.
i would really appreciate any help.

and this is more of a request, can we make the loop points and the cue points
assignable individually? that way we won't need to toggle between them, just to launch the desired cue\loop.
sec-def
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:43 am

Postby sec-def » Fri Apr 29, 2011 12:59 am

newb mistake needed to update the externals.
but i still can't load up highlighted clips.
could it be the api file? i just noticed it and i have no clue where to put it.
sec-def
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:43 am

Postby sec-def » Mon May 02, 2011 4:31 pm

no one?
dlpinkstah
Site Admin
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 9:17 pm

Postby dlpinkstah » Thu May 05, 2011 6:44 am

If clips won't load you probably have neglected to add the folder where your audio clips are stored to the Max/MSP search path.
sec-def
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:43 am

Postby sec-def » Thu May 05, 2011 10:32 am

it's added just like in the instructions.
dlpinkstah
Site Admin
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 9:17 pm

Postby dlpinkstah » Fri May 06, 2011 1:55 am

Can you load clips into the M4L device by dragging them from the Ableton file browser? If not, then you must have something not installed properly.
sec-def
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:43 am

Postby sec-def » Fri May 06, 2011 5:29 am

that i can do. the only problem is loading a highlighted clip.
dlpinkstah
Site Admin
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 9:17 pm

Postby dlpinkstah » Fri May 06, 2011 5:45 am

The way the loading of highlighted clips works is by taking the name of the clip (e.g. "Bass Pad 01") and concatenating different filename extensions like .aif, .wav, .mp3, until the concatenated filename (e.g. "Bass Pad 01.wav") is found within the Max/MSP search path. So if you're absolutely certain the folders where all the audio files that comprise your Ableton set are located have been added to the Max/MSP search path, then the problem must be that the clip name that is displayed in the Ableton session view somehow doesn't match the name of the audio file that contains that clip. For instance, if the session view shows a clip as "Bass Pad 01" but the name of the audio file itself on the hard drive is actually "Bass Pad Slightly Distorted 01.wav", then of course Max can't find the file and the clip won't be loaded. This is an unfortunate limitation of the LiveAPI that is used by Max-For-Live. The names of the clips in session view must match the names of the audio files themselves stored on your harddrive, with the possible addition of .aif, .wav, or .mp3 extension.
dlpinkstah
Site Admin
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 9:17 pm

Postby dlpinkstah » Fri May 06, 2011 5:51 am

One more thing you may not have installed properly-- the javascript file "MsPinky_LiveAPI.js". This javascript file must be properly installed within the max search path as well. Otherwise M4L cannot execute the code it contains, and no highlighted clips will be loaded. To be certain that M4L has located this file, double-click on the object labeled "js Mspinky_LiveAPI.js" in the patch and verify that a window showing lots of javascript code pops up.
sec-def
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:43 am

Postby sec-def » Fri May 06, 2011 7:27 am

that's probably it. how do i include it in the search path? just like i did
with folder containing my tracks?
dlpinkstah
Site Admin
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 9:17 pm

Postby dlpinkstah » Fri May 06, 2011 5:12 pm

Doesn't matter where the javascript file is within the Max/MSP search path. Just put it somewhere where Max can find it.
sec-def
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:43 am

Postby sec-def » Fri May 06, 2011 8:10 pm

great! it's working. is there anyway to make this work
with the play button instead of highlighting?
using this with the launchpad would be pretty awesome.
dlpinkstah
Site Admin
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 9:17 pm

Postby dlpinkstah » Sat May 07, 2011 6:57 am

Yes, of course you can do that. Just requires a bit of re-patching by YOU :lol:
sec-def
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2010 11:43 am

Postby sec-def » Sat May 07, 2011 1:11 pm

can it be done without knowing any java what so ever?
dlpinkstah
Site Admin
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 9:17 pm

Postby dlpinkstah » Sat May 07, 2011 5:51 pm

No need to modify the javascript file. That won't change. What changes is the observed property, which should be "playing_slot_index".

Mastahlee created a beautiful patch showing how to do this:

http://www.mspinky.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=973

You should be able to take out the parts of his patch that you need, and use them in your own new hybrid patch.

Return to “The Max/MSP + MsPinky = LUV Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest